NYC Chair



The current National Youth Chair is Johnathan Morey. Johnathan began his Scouting career at the age of six at 1st Bossley Park Joey Mob. Johnathan has continued in Scouting and now is a proud Rover at Kings Langley Rover Crew. Johnathan has been a Patrol Leader, Unit Chair, Crew Leader, RRC Vice Chair and Assistant Scout Leader throughout his time in Scouting. Johanthan has also been a cast member and Senior Patrol Leader in NSW’s Cumberland Gang Show.

Johnathan has completed his Bachelor of Business and Commerce with a major in Property in 2013, and now works as in the Property Industry. Johnathan is a huge supporter of the Arts, Studying Drama, Art and Music as part of his High School Studies. Johnathan has previously been involved in Gondwanna Voices, the Australian Youth Choir, NSW Schools Spectacular and The NSW Arts Unit.

Johnathan joined the National Youth Council in 2012 as the NSW Branch appointment after being a Chair of the State Youth Council of NSW.  Johnathan became a member of the Frankston Patrol in 2012 and the Brownsea Island Patrol in 2013. In the March 2014 National Youth Council Meeting, Johnathan was elected Chair of the council.

Since Johnathan has been the Chair of the National Youth Council, he has travelled across Australia and to Slovenia where he was one of Australia’s Delegates to the World Scout Conference. As NYC Chair, Johnathan is apart of the following teams at Scouts Australia:

  • National Team
  • National Operations Committee
  • National Executive Committee
  • National Council
  • National Youth Program Team
  • MOYCA (Meeting of Youth Council’s of Australia)

Johnathan looks forward to the remaining time he has left as NYC Chair, and hopes to leave the council enriched as a consequence. On top of managing the council, over the next 10 Months, Johnathan will also:

  • Co-Host the National Annual General Meeting Dinner 2015
  • Participate in the Scouts Australia’s Strategic Review Meeting
  • Be a delegate at the 2015 Asia Pacific Region Scout Youth Forum and Conference (South Korea)
  • Lead HR/Logistics/Special Events at theCrate at AJ2016

To contact Johnathan about anything, please email him on


2012-2013 – Chris Neilsen

2010-2011 – Nathan Delaney

2008-2009 – Jade Elliott

2006-2007 – Nikketah McGrath

2004-2005 – Mark Grima

2003 – Aaron Wardle

2001-2002 – Jane Wilson


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s